Sydney Dyslexia

A fine WordPress.com site

Sydlexia – a Journey

Leave a comment

You may remember that a lovely young South African has made a website for me, using my original website name ‘Sydney Dyslexia’ to combine the words to ‘SYDlexia’ (and having the S and D dance and shift across a smiley face, making it DYSlexia or SYDlexia). The site has other neat little features like a variety of colourful backgrounds and an origami option.

Some origami posters can be printed off for free and a video on my website explains how to fold it in a way that the word of the animal is showing after the project is finished, instead of the letters in scrambled order – hence a metaphor for dyslexia.

Well, that little website has been given more attention than I had ever thought possible. Firstly it won gold, silver and bronze metals first in Dubai, then at the New Show in New York and recently in Cannes at the IT awards. As a result I have been getting a couple of clients from Dubai and Singapore, had emails to ask for permission to use the website as a teaching tool at the Chinese University of Hongkong Shenzhen, to print off hundreds of these posters and enter them into ‘origami folding competitions’; I had enquiries from Germany, Italy, Spain and Japan to write about it in magazines, blogs and e-zines.

I am constantly amazed and in awe, and even if I don’t need any more clients, it gives me a pleasure to see that dyslexia is being seen in a more positive light, to serve as an educator rather than a facilitator.

www.sydlexia.com.au

Author: Barbara Hoi

I am working with Dyslexic and Asperger geniuses and have opened a centre to expand Sydney Dyslexia to another location right on the beach at the Entrance North. I have written two books on Dyslexia ('the Right Brain for the Right Time' and 'Nurturing the Secret Garden') as I believe these children and adults have a great gift and the ability to become leaders in their field.

Leave a Reply

