Sydney Dyslexia

A fine WordPress.com site

My Ayurveda Diet

Leave a comment

Just a quick update on an experience that I have found quite interesting and important.

I had received a voucher for an Ayurvedic massage for my birthday. It was lovely, but it also gave me an insight worth sharing. As part of the ‘deal’, the Ayurvedic doctor assessed my body type. Well, there is a Vata Type, a Pitta Type (fiery) and a Kapha Type (sluggish).

Most people are a combination of the three, with one being dominant. My dominance is Vata (airy: cold hands, moving a lot…) and according to the good doctor, everything I have eaten and done, is wrong: I should not eat raw and cold food like smoothies or salads, but instead steamed or boiled vegetables, soups, dairy and sweet fruit, starchy carbs…

Even the exercises and breathing was wrong, according to her: I should only do yoga or something light, no running & swimming. The breathing is too deep, she would teach me how to breathe into my chest instead of my abdomen.

And then supplements: I need: Cow’s urine, turmeric (which is the only thing that I have done ‘right’ so far), wheatgrass, etc.

Needless to say, I disregarded everything and keep going with the meditations and whatever my body likes…and cow’s urine isn’t one of the things.

and now I am taking a deep breath and let it go!

Author: Barbara Hoi

I am working with Dyslexic and Asperger geniuses and have opened a centre to expand Sydney Dyslexia to another location right on the beach at the Entrance North. I have written two books on Dyslexia ('the Right Brain for the Right Time' and 'Nurturing the Secret Garden') as I believe these children and adults have a great gift and the ability to become leaders in their field.

Leave a Reply

